There’s No Place Like London

Junior Liz Perdue just returned from a semester in London! Check out what she had to say about her experience as she was finishing up her last week in the city.

This semester in London has been an amazing opportunity and I’ve loved every second of it – most people only dream of doing what I have been able to do for the last three and a half months. I am so happy that Elon places such importance on study abroad, and I’m excited to return to campus next fall as a study abroad ambassador, so I can help other students prepare for their own incredible experiences. The entire trip keeps saying that we aren’t ready to go home, but I know that when our plane lands in Raleigh I will be overjoyed to see my family, friends, and Tri Delta sisters!

What countries have you visited?

(click on the pictures for a larger version)

What was your favorite place you went?

Internationally, my favorite place would be Barcelona. It was my first weekend trip, and I positively fell in love with the city. Within London, my favorite site would be either the 2012 Olympic Stadium or Harrods (the upscale department store), of course.

What was the most exciting thing you did?

I went hang gliding over the Alps in Switzerland…on Friday, the 13th

What was the best and worst food you tried?

Patatas bravas (fried potatoes in spicy tomato sauce from Spain) was definitely my favorite. I was addicted to it when I visited Barcelona. Luckily, I don’t really have a worst food – I’ve enjoyed it all!

What are you going to miss most when you come home?

I’m definitely going to miss the accessibility to travel throughout Europe. It is surreal to think of the weekend trips I have been on over the past few months.

What are you most look forward to about coming home?

Although I have thoroughly enjoyed being abroad, I am certainly looking forward to a few things at home. My sister had a baby just four weeks ago – so I’m an aunt! He will be such an English-dressed baby – I don’t have much self-control when shopping for him. We’ve been video Skyping, but it’s not quite the same. I didn’t realize how much I would miss my family and friends, especially my Tri Delta sisters. I also can’t wait to get some Cookout, Taco Bell, Chick-fil-a, and YoZone!

Liz spent the semester in London
with fellow Tri Delta sister, Julia Robinson.

Leave a Reply

