Greetings from Florence!

Junior Julie Purcell has been studying abroad in Florence, Italy this semester. Check out all the beautiful places she’s been and the incredible experiences she’s had in Europe!

“I have had the most amazing experience, and I truly feel so blessed. It’s been a great adventure exploring this beautiful and quaint city and trying to learn the language. While at first it took some adjusting to being away from home and learning the “do”s and “don’t”s of the Italian culture, Florence then became my new home, and I am so sad to leave. However, I missed Elon terribly as well, and I can’t wait to see all my sisters and friends when I get home!”

Julie has traveled to….

“I’ve had the opportunity to do so many exciting activities including paragliding in the Swiss Alps, sea kayaking in the Mediterranean Sea, and having a picnic in front of the Eiffel Tower! The best food that I’ve had is really anything Italian or the pastries in Paris! The worst food was tripe, or cow stomach, which I tried by accident! I am going to miss walking to class each morning along the Ponte Vecchio, traveling, and just being in this city and living with some of my best friends! I am most looking forward to coming home and seeing all my friends, sisters, and family members, and also going to Starbucks and The Cheesecake Factory.”

“I am so fortunate to have shared this experience with my sister and friend, Ali Bougas. We have been roommates here in Florence, and I honestly don’t know what I would have done here without her or what I will do when we leave. During recruitment, we sing the song “Home away from home” to describe the bond that our sisters share and the comfort and support we provide one another: the comfort of home. Ali has been my home away from home here. Her loving support, hilarious sense of humor, our bedtime chats, and travel experiences have made my time studying abroad unforgettable, and I am so thankful for her. “

Leave a Reply

