Pi Chi Wisdoms

Being a Pi Chi takes a lot of work. During the week of recruitment, Pi Chis meet at 8:00 am and don’t go home until 9:00 pm. They experience the emotions of recruitment 15 times with each one of their group members. And on top of that, they have completely disaffiliated from their sorority and haven’t spoken to sisters in a month.

But out of all this dedication and exhaustion comes many opportunities to learn about themselves, about Greek Life, and about their own chapter. Seven of our chapter’s sisters shared their own personal experiences as Pi Chis.

Genevieve D’Cruz

“I think the thing I learned most from being a Pi Chi was what Panhellenic spirit means. Through the entire process of meeting and getting to know other Pi Chis and re-living recruitment through each woman in my group, I truly feel that I love Panhellenic as a whole and fully understand what each Greek organization has to offer. There are beautiful, strong, and independent women in each organization, and they’ve all been positively influenced by their Greek experience. Being a Pi Chi helped me to better see this.”

                                                                                 Katie Vitiello

Being a Pi Chi was one of the most rewarding experiences of my Elon career. As Pi Chis, all of us became extremely close and were able to make the most of our time together. We leaned on each other when we felt emotionally drained, and helped each other stay positive and enthusiastic throughout the week. Pi Chi was the perfect way to meet women from other organizations. This experience has definitely made me appreciate and respect each individual sorority.”

   Caitlin Clarke

“My month as a Pi Chi was quite arguably the most valued month of my entire Elon experience. In the 2.5 weeks that I had my group of girls, I fell absolutely in love with them and they reminded me why I wanted to be a Pi Chi so badly. As different as they all were, and as cheesy as this is going to sound, they reminded me of what recruitment is all about: finding a home. Delta is my home away from home, which I never imagined I would find at school. It is exactly what each of my girls wanted in their own way. The tremendous family that I formed with other Pi Chis from all different organizations gave me the greatest joy because I knew that no matter where the girls ended up, they all had just as great a chance at happiness and family as I did when I went through recruitment.”

                                                                         Tina Musilli

“Once the week of Recruitment started, I quickly realized that it didn’t matter which organization each Pi Chi was in or what I personally thought about each sorority on campus. All that I cared about during that week was my amazing group of women and their happiness. When they were happy, I was just as happy, and when they were upset, I was just as upset. Over the course of the week I realized just that; I realized that one of my strengths is my ability to form a personal relationship with someone that means so much more than just being a friend. Not only did I learn things about myself over the course of the week, but I also realized that sometimes the ideas that we all have in our heads not only hold us back from seeing the good in everything, but also from making true lasting friendships.”

Maggie Roney

“Being a Pi Chi is one of the most rewarding and unique experiences of my time at Elon. It pushes you outside of your comfort zone…from having to make new friends in a group of 39 women, to serving as a role model, leader, counselor, and friend to not only the PNM’s, but also to your fellow Pi Chis. It is an amazing experience that really gives you a perspective on Greek life as a whole and allows you to truly become a Panhellenic woman. It makes you feel proud to be a member of not only your own organization, but of Greek Life as a whole, and you truly feel connected to every chapter. Its an experience that is difficult to put into words, but is definitely unforgettable.”

Jordan Steinhauser

“The thing that surprised me the most about being a Pi Chi is that the job doesn’t stop after Bid Day. Since Sunday, I’ve met with several of my women, both individually and as a group, and I don’t want it to stop. I’ve become friends with my women and love them all so much for different reasons. We’ve already planned on having coffee dates and eating as a group. I was surprised to know how much they appreciated having me during the week, even if I was just there to listen, and that made the experience that much more rewarding.”

Anna Lee Crenshaw

“Being a Pi Chi shed light on a part of Greek Life I had never realized before. Different parts of me fit in every single sorority. There are aspects of each organization that I really connect with, but Tri Delta is where I fit as a whole. That’s what makes Greek Life so great. We each have a home where we feel most like ourselves, but we have  a strong Greek Life connection too. My fellow Pi Chis helped me see that. We may have run to different houses on Bid Day, but we are still Panhellenic sisters.

Leave a Reply

