Meet Our Sisters

Meet Cleo Dan,

As a self proclaimed nerd and world traveler, Cleo represents the well-rounded sorority woman.  Her travel experiences (and there are many) have opened the world to her, which has lead to an interest in government international affairs and Eastern European languages.  Her dream job is working as a Foreign Service officer with the U.S. Department of State in an embassy in Sweden.

Cleo has visited 22 countries and she is only 19!  Her mother is Swedish so at a young age she was visiting family abroad which fueled her excitement for travel.  Eastern Europe remains her favorite area with some memorable experiences in Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Croatia.  This summer she was invited to join a worldwide organization of world travelers, called Club International Des Grands Voyageurs: a club that the Prince of Monaco is a part of as well!

“I feel very lucky that I have been able to be exposed to so many unique cultures, languages and such diverse people. Every time I visit a new country I try not be a tourist, but a traveler and immerse myself in the culture by teaching myself pieces of a foreign language and blending in with the locals, rather than observing a culture through the window of a tour bus. Traveling has brought me so many incredible opportunities that have shaped the me for the better. I’ve hiked a crater of a volcano, I’ve been proposed to, and I’ve eaten gelato for every meal in a day. My favorite quote about traveling is “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things”, by Henry Miller, and I truly believe that traveling is the best way to learn more about the world, humanity, and about yourself.” -Cleo

 

Another cool side of Cleo, she wants to be a volunteer firefighter!  She has already taken an introductory training class and will begin serious training soon.  She says, “Firefighting is something I’ve always wanted to do ever since I was a child, and now that I have the opportunity to be involved with the Fire Department in Elon and I am looking forward to the adventures ahead. Giving back to the community is so important to me.”

There is no doubt that this Tri Delta woman is going to change the world! Checkout a slideshow of Cleo’s travels below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Meet Our Sisters

  1. Cleo, Great bio, and it surely seems that you will be able “to change the world” and especially if you don’t get your grand-mother’s nose
    Britt

  2. A note to Cleo – I served as a Foreign Service officer up until last year so if you ever want to talk about it, feel free to reach out!

    Dlove!

    Lindsay

    • Lindsay, I would love to hear about your experience as a foreign service officer! Please e-mail me at cdan@elon.edu 🙂 I would really appreciate any tips or advice! Thanks and dlove!

Leave a comment